Find health and medical information from books, journal databases and reputable online resources at State Library Victoria.
Definitions of medical terms, and brief explanations, can be found in medical dictionaries and encyclopedias.
A selection of these resources available in the library are listed below.
Electronic resources are all available at the Library from any computer terminal, or from your laptop using our free wi-fi service.
Also, any Victorian registered State Library of Victoria members can access these ebooks online from home.
Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing & health professions
Over 56,000 entries offer detailed definitions of terminology used by medical and health professionals, as well as the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care. For access from home register as a State Library of Victoria member.
Includes information on almost 2,000 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. For access from home register as a State Library of Victoria member.
Oxford companion to the body
Concise and readable accounts of the structure and function of all the major systems of the body and the causes of disorders that affect them. For access from home register as a State Library of Victoria member.
Biomechanics in sport : performance enhancement and injury prevention [electronic resource] / edited by Vladimir M. Zatsiorsky.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9939736289307636
Diets and dieting : a cultural encyclopedia / Sander L. Gilman.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9915187183607636
The encyclopedia of autoimmune diseases / Dana K. Cassell, Noel Rose.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9911436763607636
Encyclopedia of bioethics / edited by Stephen G. Post.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9911411313607636
The encyclopedia of complementary and alternative medicine / Tova Navarra ; foreword by Adam Perlman.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9911885453607636
The encyclopedia of cosmetic and plastic surgery / Carol Ann Rinzler ; foreword by Robert T. Grant and by Stanley Darrow.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9918909103607636
Encyclopedia of depression / Linda Wasmer Andrews.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9920979143607636
Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behavior / Pamela Korsmeyer and Henry R. Kranzler, editors.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9918569513607636
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9936983473607636
The encyclopedia of elder care / Joseph Kandel and Christine Adamec.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9920082863607636
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9939748708407636
Encyclopedia of Heart Diseases [electronic resource] by M. Gabriel Khan.
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9939739111107636
Encyclopedia of medical devices and instrumentation [electronic resource] / edited by John G. Webster.
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9936983913607636
The encyclopedia of memory and memory disorders / Carol Turkington and Joseph R. Harris.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9910689093607636
The encyclopedia of men's health / Glenn Rothfeld and Deborah S. Romaine.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9912437823607636
The encyclopedia of mental health / Ada P. Kahn, Jan Fawcett.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9916094703607636
The encyclopedia of skin and skin disorders / Carol Turkington, Jeffrey S. Dover ; medical illustrations, Birck Cox.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9916068163607636
The encyclopedia of women's health / Christine Ammer ; foreword by JoAnn E. Manson and Elizabeth F. Brigham.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9919638663607636
The Gale encyclopedia of alternative medicine / Laurie J. Fundukian, editor.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9929909753607636
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9929909753607636
The Gale encyclopedia of cancer : a guide to cancer and its treatments / Jacqueline L. Longe, editor.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9913035203607636
The Gale encyclopedia of environmental health [electronic resource] / Jacqueline L. Longe, editor.
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9936991373607636
The Gale encyclopedia of genetic disorders / Brigham Narins, editor.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9913035213607636
Ebook (2017): https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9936991393607636
The Gale encyclopedia of mental health [electronic resource] / Kristin Key, editor.
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9936991423607636
The Gale encyclopedia of nursing and allied health [electronic resource] / Brigham Narins, editor.
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9936991453607636
The Gale encyclopedia of pregnancy and childbirth / project editor, Deirdre S. Blanchfield.
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9939736289307636
The Gale encyclopedia of public health [electronic resource] / Laurie J. Fundukian, editor.
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9936991503607636
The Gale encyclopedia of senior health : a guide for seniors and their caregivers. [electronic resource]
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9936991523607636
The Gale encyclopedia of surgery and medical tests / Kristin Key, editor.
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9936991533607636
Otto Brunfels, Herbarum vivae eicones (Illustrated Herbal), Strasbourg, J Schoft, 1532, Rare Books Collection, State Library Victoria
Blood : an epic history of medicine and commerce / Douglas Starr.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma997719643607636
Essence and emblem of life - feared, revered, mythologized, and used in magic and medicine from earliest times - human blood is now the center of a huge, secretive, and often dangerous worldwide commerce. It is a commerce whose impact upon humanity rivals that of any other business - millions of lives have been saved by blood and its various derivatives, and tens of thousands of lives have been lost. Douglas Starr tells how this came to be, in a sweeping history that ranges through the centuries.
The emperor of all maladies : a biography of cancer / Siddhartha Mukherjee.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9921407443607636
A "biography" of cancer from its origins to the epic battle to cure, control, and conquer it. A combination of medical history, cutting-edge science, and narrative journalism that transforms the listener's understanding of cancer and much of the world around them. The author provides a glimpse into the future of cancer treatments and offers a bold new perspective on the way doctors, scientists, philosophers, and lay people have observed and understood the human body for millennia.
The greatest benefit to mankind : a medical history of humanity / Roy Porter.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma996983173607636
Porter explores medicine's evolution against the backdrop of the wider religious, scientific, philosophical, and political beliefs of the culture in which it develops, covering ground from the diseases of the hunter-gatherers to the more recent threats of AIDS and Ebola, from the clearly defined conviction of the Hippocratic oath to the muddy ethical dilemmas of modern-day medicine.
Health, civilization, and the state : a history of public health from ancient to modern times / Dorothy Porter.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma997939793607636
This book examines the social, economic and political issues of public health provision in historical perspective. It outlines the development of public health in Britain, Continental Europe and the United States from the ancient world through to the modern state.
A history of medicine / Lois N. Magner, Oliver J. Kim.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9937925443607636
A non-technical, jargon-free presentation of the history of medicine from palaeopathology to recent theories and practices of modern medicine. It gives a wide-ranging overview of Western medicine and an introduction to the rich and varied medical traditions of the Near and Far East.
Source Book of Medical History / Logan Clendening
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma999230783607636
Dr. Clendening, who was Professor of the History of Medicine at the University of Kansas, brings together the most significant medical writings of 4,000 years, covering almost every area of medical thought and practice - pathology, asepsis, preventive medicine, bacteriology, physiology, etc. - from the Egyptian Kahun Papyrus of 1900 B.C. to W. C. Roentgen's discovery of X-rays.
Witches, midwives & nurses : a history of women healers / Barbara Ehrenreich & Deirdre English.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9921004703607636
First published by the Feminist Press in 1973, Witches, midwives & nurses is an essential book about the corruption of the medical establishment and its historic roots in witch hunters. In this new edition, Barbara Ehrenreich and Deirdre English have written an entirely new chapter that delves into the current fascination with and controversies about witches, exposing our fears and fantasies.
Women healers and physicians : climbing a long hill / Lillian R. Furst, editor.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma996147943607636
In this provocative anthology of twelve essays, historians and literary scholars explore the work of women as healers and physicians. The essays range across centuries, nations, and cultures to focus on the ideological and practical obstacles women have faced in the world of medicine.
Ancient Babylonian medicine : theory and practice / Markham J. Geller.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9921813023607636
Utilizing a great variety of previously unknown cuneiform tablets, Ancient Babylonian Medicine: Theory and Practice examines the way medicine was practiced by various Babylonian professionals of the 2nd and 1st millennium B.C.
Ancient Egyptian medicine / John F. Nunn.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma995302393607636
John F. Nunn draws on his own experience as an eminent doctor of medicine and an Egyptologist to translate and review the original Egyptian medical papyri and reconsiders other sources of information, including skeletons, mummies, statues, tomb paintings and coffins. Incorporating the most recent insights of modern medicine and Egyptology, the result is the most comprehensive and authoritative general book to be published on this fascinating subject for many years.
Disease in Babylonia [electronic resource] / edited by I.L. Finkel and M.J. Geller.
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9939750387207636
This collection of articles on disease in Babylonia is the first such volume to provide detailed information derived from published and unpublished medical texts in cuneiform script from the second and first millennia BC.
The healing hand : man and wound in the ancient world / Guido Majno.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma991339023607636
Probing the documents and artifacts of the ancient world with a scientist's mind and a detective's eye, Guido Majno pieces together the difficulties people faced in the effort to survive their injuries, as well as the odd, chilling, or inspiring ways in which they rose to the challenge.
The beginnings of western science : the European scientific tradition in philosophical, religious, and institutional context, prehistory to A.D. 1450 / David C. Lindberg.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9915924493607636
David C. Lindberg provides a rich chronicle of the development of scientific ideas, practices, and institutions from the pre-Socratic Greek philosophers to the late-medieval scholastics. Lindberg surveys all the most important themes in the history of ancient and medieval science, including developments in cosmology, astronomy, mechanics, optics, alchemy, natural history, and medicine.
The Black death / translated and edited by Rosemary Horrox
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma991164243607636
A collection of documents written by those who lived and died in the mid-fourteenth century (1348-1350). It traces through contemporary writings of the impact of the Black Death in Europe with particular emphasis on its spread across England.
The Black Death : a new history of the great mortality in Europe, 1347-1500 / John Aberth.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9939104943607636
Leading scholar John Aberth provides the most authoritative, up-to-date treatment of the Black Death, giving not just a narrative account but also a thorough examination of the latest forensic, historical, and DNA evidence to date.
The development of medicine as a profession : The contribution of the medieval university to modern medicine / Vern L. Bullough.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma992567313607636
This book examines the development of medicine as a profession from ancient times to the end of the medieval period and argues that the major contribution of medieval medicine to modern medicine was the professionalization of the physician.
The devil's doctor : Paracelsus and the world of Renaissance magic and science / Philip Ball.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9912780303607636
Philip Ball's life of Paracelsus fascinatingly reveals the richness, complexity and chaos of sixteenth century Europe, in a stunning piece of historical and biographical writing. Although Paracelsus has been seen as both a charlatan and as a founder of modern science, Ball reveals a man who was a product of his time - an age of great change in which the church was divided and the classics were rediscovered - and whose bringing together of the seemingly diverse disciplines of alchemy and biology signalled the beginning of the age of rationalism.
The great mortality : an intimate history of the Black Death, the most devastating plague of all time / John Kelly.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9912057263607636
John Kelly lends an air of immediacy and intimacy to his telling of the journey of the plague as it traveled from the steppes of Russia, across Europe, and into England, killing 75 million people—one third of the known population—before it vanished.
The great plague : the story of London's most deadly year / A. Lloyd Moote and Dorothy C. Moote.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9911588893607636
Underscoring the human dimensions of the epidemic, Lloyd and Dorothy Moote dramatically recast the history of the Great Plague and offer a masterful portrait of a city and its inhabitants besieged by—and defiantly resisting—unimaginable horror.
Knowledge and Practice in English Medicine, 1550–1680 [electronic resource] /
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9939737810207636
This is a major synthesis of the knowledge and practice of early modern English medicine in its social and cultural contexts. The book vividly maps out some central areas: remedies (and how they were made credible), notions of disease, advice on preventive medicine and on healthy living, and how surgeons worked upon the body and their understanding of what they were doing. The structures of practice and knowledge examined in the first part of the book came to be challenged in the later seventeenth century, when the 'new science' began to overturn the foundation of established knowledge.
Medicine in the English Middle Ages / Faye Getz
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma997848843607636
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9939737809107636
This book presents an engaging, detailed portrait of the people, ideas, and beliefs that made up the world of English medieval medicine between 750 and 1450, a time when medical practice extended far beyond modern definitions.
Medieval medicine : a reader / edited by Faith Wallis.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9920979623607636
In this collection of over 100 primary sources, many translated for the first time, Faith Wallis reveals the dynamic world of medicine in the Middle Ages that has been largely unavailable to students and scholars.
Popular medicine in thirteenth-century England : introduction and texts / Tony Hunt.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma995577603607636
The first study of Anglo-Norman medical prescriptions to appear in print. A historical introduction provides the richest and most up-to-date account of popular medicine in the period 1100-1300 yet published.
The birth of the clinic : an archaeology of medical perception / Michel Foucault ; translated by A. M. Sheridan.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9911666273607636
Michel Foucault shows how much what we think of as pure science owes to social and cultural attitude—in this case, to the climate of the French Revolution. Brilliant, provocative, and omnivorously learned, his book sheds new light on the origins of our current notions of health and sickness, life and death.
The butchering art : Joseph Lister's quest to transform the grisly world of Victorian medicine / Lindsey Fitzharris.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9936504893607636
This gripping story reveals the shocking world of nineteenth-century surgery and shows how it was transformed by advances made in germ theory and antiseptics between 1860 and 1875.
Civil War medicine : challenges and triumphs / Alfred Jay Bollet.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9910899353607636
Along with detailed and balanced information, this work separates fact from fiction, history from folklore, and sets the record straight when it comes to Civil War medicine and surgery. Bollet artistically details the innovations and state-of-the-era care given by the vastly underappreciated doctors, hospital stewards, and nurses who sacrificed and diligently served during the conflict.
A Confederate nurse : the diary of Ada W. Bacot, 1860-1863 / edited by Jean V. Berlin.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma99214303607636
Bacot's journal sheds light on her own experiences and also on the themes that dominated the lives of Southern white women throughout the nineteenth century. A Confederate Nurse reveals the Confederate nationalism that motivated some Southern women and the work these women performed to sustain the war effort.
Death, dissection, and the destitute / Ruth Richardson.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma991454853607636
In the early nineteenth century, body snatching was rife because the only corpses available for medical study were those of hanged murderers. With the Anatomy Act of 1832, however, the bodies of those who died destitute in workhouses were appropriated for dissection. At a time when such a procedure was regarded with fear and revulsion, the Anatomy Act effectively rendered dissection a punishment for poverty. Providing both historical and contemporary insights, Death, Dissection, and the Destitute opens rich new prospects in history and history of science.
Gangrene and glory : medical care during the American Civil War / Frank R. Freemon.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma997980783607636
A medical doctor and a credentialed historian, Frank R. Freemon combines poignant, sometimes horrifying anecdotes of amputation, infection, and death with a clearheaded discussion of the state of medical knowledge, the effect of the military bureaucracy on medical supplies, and the members of the medical community who risked their lives, their health, and even their careers to provide appropriate care to the wounded.
The invention of hysteria : Charcot and the photographic iconography of the Salpêtrière / Georges Didi-Huberman ; translated by Alisa Hartz.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9911294103607636
In this classic of French cultural studies, Georges Didi-Huberman traces the intimate and reciprocal relationship between the disciplines of psychiatry and photography in the late nineteenth century. Focusing on the immense photographic output of the Salpetriere hospital, the notorious Parisian asylum for insane and incurable women, Didi-Huberman shows the crucial role played by photography in the invention of the category of hysteria.
Madness and civilization : a history of insanity in the Age of Reason / Michel Foucault ; translated from the French by Richard Howard ; with an introduction by David Cooper.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9911666283607636
Michel Foucault examines the archeology of madness in the West from 1500 to 1800 - from the late Middle Ages, when insanity was still considered part of everyday life and fools and lunatics walked the streets freely, to the time when such people began to be considered a threat, asylums were first built, and walls were erected between the "insane" and the rest of humanity.
Maladies of empire : how colonialism, slavery, and war transformed medicine / Jim Downs.
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9938957893607636
A sweeping global history that looks beyond European urban centers to show how slavery, colonialism, and war propelled the development of modern medicine.
American pandemic : the lost worlds of the 1918 influenza epidemic [electronic resource] / Nancy K. Bristow.
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9939697597907636
Focused on the primary players in the 1918-1920 influenza epidemic – patients and their families, friends, and community, public health experts, and health care professionals – historian Nancy K. Bristow draws on multiple perspectives to highlight the complex interplay between social identity, cultural norms, memory, and the epidemic.
And the band played on : politics, people, and the AIDS epidemic / Randy Shilts.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma991550883607636
An international bestseller, a nominee for the National Book Critics Circle Award, and made into a critically acclaimed movie, Shilts' expose revealed why AIDS was allowed to spread unchecked during the early 1980's while the most trusted institutions ignored or denied the threat. One of the few true modern classics, it changed and framed how AIDS was discussed in the following years.
The birth of the pill : how four crusaders reinvented sex and launched a revolution / Jonathan Eig.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9930261283607636
Immersed in radical feminist politics, scientific ingenuity, establishment opposition, and, ultimately, a sea change in social attitudes, this is the fascinating story of one of the most important scientific discoveries of the twentieth century.
The body project : an intimate history of American girls / Joan Jacobs Brumberg.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma996504983607636
Drawing on a vast array of lively historical sources, unpublished diaries by adolescent girls, and photographs that conjure up memories of the past, The Body Project chronicles how growing up in a female body has changed over the past century and why that experience is more difficult today than ever before.
The cancer journals / Audre Lorde.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma997413363607636
Moving between journal entry, memoir, and exposition, Audre Lorde fuses the personal and political as she reflects on her experience coping with breast cancer and a radical mastectomy.
Commodifying bodies [electronic resource] / edited by Nancy Scheper-Hughes, Loic Wacquant.
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9939696178807636
This insightful and arresting volume combines perspectives from anthropology, law, medicine, and sociology to offer compelling analyses of the concrete ways in which the body is made into a commodity and how its marketization in turn remakes social relations and cultural meanings.
Overtreated : why too much medicine is making us sicker and poorer / Shannon Brownlee.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9914741743607636
Shannon Brownlee takes readers inside the hospital to dismantle some of our most venerated myths about American medicine. Using vivid examples of real patients and physicians, Overtreated debunks the idea that most of medicine is based on sound science, and shows how our health care system delivers huge amounts of unnecessary care that is not only expensive and wasteful but can actually imperil the health of patients.
The vaccine race : science, politics, and the human costs of defeating disease / Meredith Wadman.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9934893633607636
The epic and controversial story of a major breakthrough in cell biology that led to the conquest of rubella and other devastating diseases.
War, medicine and modernity / edited by Roger Cooter, Mark Harrison and Steve Sturdy.
Book: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma998170793607636
This is an assessment of the crucial inteconnections between war, medicine and "modernity". Covering the period from 1870 to 1945, beginning with the Franco-Prussian War and ending with World War II, it spans not only the birth of modern warfare but also one of the most critical periods in the emergence of modern society.
War wounds : medicine and the trauma of conflict [electronic resource] / edited by Ashley Ekins and Elizabeth Stewart.
Ebook: https://find.slv.vic.gov.au/permalink/61SLV_INST/s6pvau/alma9932341043607636
In this riveting book, for the first time, historians, medical practitioners and researchers, military medical officers, surgeons, nurses and veterans explore the impact of war, wounds and trauma through the historical record, reported narratives and personal experiences.
Catalogue screen accessed by the library patrons, State Library of Victoria. H2017.283/9
Remember, when searching a library catalogue, you are searching words in the title, author, subject heading, or occasionally other keywords or notes attached to the item - not the full text content.
If you look at the details of a relevant result, you can use one of the subject headings attached to it to determine better subject terms to conduct a further search on.
Publication date is a particularly important factor in the area of medicine; you generally will want the most recent thinking on a topic. You can use the date filtering options on the search page to limit your results to books published within the last few years. See the Evidence-based medicine & research page for more information.
