A companion research guide for the Your Library Online webinar
Search for articles across many full text databases though the Library catalogue. From the dropdown box just click on the Articles option and enter keywords to search.
Use the options at left to refine your search.
The Library subscribes to many databases of journal, newspapers and ebooks. Much of the content can be searched concurrently using the Article search option from the search box on any page of our website. However searching individual databases can be an effective way of finding information too.
The advantage of searching individual databases is that the search methods and data is consistent across the database. This allows a more accurate search and more consistent and relevant results. The main issue with searching individual databases is to be aware of the range and breadth of material likely to be available via a specific database.
Access databases from the A-Z databases link under Search & discover on our website
Databases from different companies look and operate differently but all will have a search box and similar search options. Many of them offer sophisticated search options.
Citations give details of where an article or a piece of information was published. Many online databases contain the full text of articles that are cited, but sometimes only the citation, and not the full text, is available.
If there is only a citation available through our databases, you can search our Library catalogue to see if we hold the publication containing the article. You can also search the Trove database which includes most holdings at most libraries around Australia.
This is an example of a citation
See also our guide to Citation Management.
Borchgrevink finds many articles about the Antarctic explorer
Borchgrevink NOT (Antarctic OR Polar) allows me to remove articles that include the terms Antarctic or Polar
Because I haven't used brackets to segment the search, the results include two searches - one for cars AND "price of fuel" and a second for "cost of petrol"?
Using the brackets means that cars is matched with "price of fuel" OR "cost of petrol"
