Early Australian census records

Book. Includes some information about the people who settled at Sullivan Bay (Sorrento, Victoria), the first official European settlement in Victoria (1803-1804). Information includes names, occupations, and records of some births, deaths and marriages.

Book. Includes name indexes for censuses from:
- November 1836 (Port Phillip)
- March (Melbourne) & September (Port Phillip) 1838.
See Part IV: Population of Port Phillip, pages 419-449.
Copies of the original handwritten census records are held in the Library's Manuscripts Collection. The original records from the November 1836 and September 1838 census are held by the Public Record Office Victoria.

Book. Includes name index to the 1836 Port Phillip census (p. 484-485). Index gives page references to more detailed census information, available on microfilm.

Microfilm IN 65:
1836 census: includes name, date of arrival in Port Phillip District, information about cultivation of their land, description of residence, number of livestock. Sometimes includes additional remarks relating to livestock and land ownership and management
1838 census: includes name, indication if person was in 'bond' (that is, an assigned servant)

Microfilm IN 72:
Repeats information from 1836 and 1838 as above. Also includes:
9 November 1836: returns of sheep proprietors' stations, including name of owner, location of property, number of sheep.

The returns of occupants of pastoral lands from 1852, including name of occupant, extent of the run in acres and numbers of horses, sheep and cattle utilising the run, are available at the Public Records Office of Victoria.

Article from The Victorian Historical Magazine vol 11 no 4, June 1927, page 231. Reproduces the abstract of the census of 1836. The names of 43 heads of households are included, as is information about the number of males/females in each household, their status (free/convict), age (under/over 12) and religion.

Website. Indexes names of heads of households recorded on the 1841 census. The census included people in the Port Phillip District of New South Wales (now known as Victoria).
Once a reference has been found, the microfilm 1841 census householders' returns can be accessed for more information. Alternatively, the householders' returns can be accessed online at the Library (see below).

Online on Ancestry Library Edition database. Indexed, digitised copy of householders' returns from the 1841 census of the Port Phillip District of New South Wales (now known as Victoria). Includes names (heads of households only). This database is available at State Library Victoria, and some local libraries.

Website. Contains a wide range of demographic data in Excel spreadsheet form, going back in some cases to 1788. Statistics include population size and growth, population distribution, population age-sex structure, births, deaths, migration, marriages and divorces.

Copies of historic Australian statistical publications, available online and on microfiche:

Online
Some census reports are available online from the Historical census and colonial data archive.
Note: The easiest way to view this data is to download the .xtml files (the fourth option in the list of files) and then open it with your preferred web browser.

Microfiche
The Colonial statistics: Australian statistical publications, 1804-1901 microfiche include copies of many different statistical publications. A list of included publications and a subject index are available online.

The microfiche are available in the Family History & Newspaper Room at LTMF 53 (fiche N2 and V5). Note that the microfiche do not include information about:
- individuals
- the 1838 or 1851 censuses

The N2 set of microfiche includes censuses for the years:
- 1836: see statistics labelled Port Phillip. Includes statistics relating to age (under/over 12 years), sex, religion, and if free/a convict.
- 1841: see statistics labeled Bourke (Melbourne & surrounds) and Grant (Geelong and surrounds). Includes similar statistics to 1836 census.
- 1846: see detailed report on Port Phillip District. Statistics include sex, age, civil condition (free/convict, born in colony, ticket of leave, private assignment etc), social condition (i.e. married/single), education, country where born (by region), occupation, houses.

The V5 set of microfiche includes:
- 1854: population tables
- 1857: population tables
- 1861: population tables
- 1871: general report and appendices
- 1881: general report, with summary tables, diagrams, and map
- 1891: general report
- 1893/1898-1900: abstract of statistics
- 1901

Book. Includes includes basic population statistics for 1836 to 1839. See Part IV: Population of Port Phillip, pages 419-449.

Webpage. A short introductory article about Victoria's population in the 1800s, from the Library's Ergo website.

Book. Lists all towns and villages for Victorian censuses between 1841 and 1901. It includes the latitude and longitude for each town. It indicates how many males and females lived in the town, and the number of occupied dwellings (where available).

Population numbers of immigrant groups in Victoria over time (often including statistics divided by age and gender). Also includes background information on the 1854 and 1901 censuses, and immigration law. Produced by Museum Victoria.

Book. Gives population statistics for local government bodies (e.g. shires & municipalities) in Victoria, up to the early 1990s

Map showing census and electoral divisions.

Online.
Summary tables and reports from this census are available on microfilm in the Votes and proceedings of the Legislative Council during the session: with copies of the various documents ordered by the Council to be printed. See 1851/2 session, page 207 (reel 74).
These publications are also available in print (bound in one volume, but catalogued to two records, Victoria - census - 1851 and Victoria census, 1851. General summary).

There was criticism of the accuracy of the collection methods used in this census, particularly in the Geelong area.

Victorian year-books provide quick access to state wide data, or data organised by region.
Note that earlier issues may be labelled with one date but only include data from the last census, several years prior.
Also available in hard copy

Book. Includes statistics from the Census of Australia Felix District of Port Phillip, now Victoria, March 1846 (p. 486), including population statistics (by sex, age group, marital status, religion, some divided by region e.g. Gippsland). Statistics are identical to those in Records relating to early Victorian history. More detailed statistics can be found in the original census report - see Colonial statistics above.

These microfilms include:

Microfilm IN 65:
1836 census: includes name, date of arrival in Port Phillip District, information about cultivation of their land, description of residence, number of livestock. Sometimes includes additional remarks relating to livestock and land ownership and management
1838 census: includes name, indication if person was in 'bond', that is, an assigned servant
1852: includes name, size of run (acres), types and number of livestock

Microfilm IN 72: Repeats information from 1836 and 1838 as above. Also includes:
1836: abstract of returns, giving age bracket and religion.
9 November 1836: returns of sheep proprietors' stations, including name of owner, location of property, number of sheep.