Citation management

A guide to saving citations and creating bibliographies from the State Library catalogue.

Export direct to online citation management tools

The State Library catalogue currently supports exporting citations to four popular online citation management tools: EasyBib, EndNote WebRefWorks and Mendeley. You can also choose to export the citation in the RIS format for subsequent importing into other tools.

To export a citation for a catalogue record to any of these services, click the title to open the record in the full detail view and select the appropriate option from the Save as menu.

Export options from Save as menu

A new window will open for your chosen citation manager (you may be required to log in or create an account if you haven't already done so); follow the instructions to complete your citation export.

Export citations in RIS format

RIS is a plain text file format that uses a standardised set of tags developed by Research Information Systems, Inc to allow citation management programs to import and exchange data.

The RIS file format is supported by the majority of citation management tools currently available, so you can use this option to export citations from the State Library catalogue into desktop tools such Citavi, Mendeley, Zotero, or the desktop version of EndNote. The format is also compatible with online citation managers such as EasyBib, EndNote Web, Mendeley Web and RefWorks.

EasyBib

EasyBib logo

EasyBib® is a free, online citation management tool for generating citations and creating bibliographies.

EasyBib includes the option to create a free account, which allows users to save citations and generate a bibliography using the MLA style but it should be noted that this option includes ads on the website. Alternatively, you can subscribe to EasyBib Pro to gain access to APA, Chicago, Harvard and many other citation styles.

EndNote

EndNote™ Basic (formerly EndNote Web / EndNote online) is a commercial reference management software package produced by Clarivate Analytics (previously Thomson Reuters) which includes a free, online only web version. A full desktop version  is included with the paid subscription option (EndNote 20).

EndNote Basic also includes the option to install the Cite While You Write™ plug-in which allows users to insert references, and format citations and bibliographies automatically while writing papers in Microsoft Word. Users can also install a EndNote Click - a Chrome extension - which adds a toolbar to the browser for saving references directly into an EndNote library, install the free Capture Tool to their preferred browser bookmark bar, or install the free EndNote iPad app to access access your library on your Apple device.

Mendeley

Mendeley logo

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.

You can download Mendeley Reference Manager (desktop version) for free, or use Mendeley Web. The web version will have slightly reduced features, but will work on its own. Alternatively, you can use both versions together and sync them. An older, simplified version of Mendeley Desktop is also still available for download.

Mendeley also offers a citation plug-in, Mendeley Cite, to insert references, citations and bibliographies straight into a Word document. Users can also install Mendeley Web Importer as an extension to most browsers, allowing you to import papers, web pages and other documents directly into your reference library. A premium paid version is also available for extra cloud storage. 

Mendeley Cite supports most citation styles, and allows custom styles to be downloaded or added manually. Mendeley will default to APA 6th edition when it is first opened.

As a social network, Mendeley has the option to create groups and share references with group members, which can be particularly useful during team research projects. 

RefWorks

ProQuest RefWorks logo

RefWorks, by ProQuest, is a commercial web-based reference management product that is typically only available to members of an educational institution through an institutional account.

If you are currently enrolled at a university or other education provider you may be able to create a RefWorks account by signing in with your institution's credentials, however if this doesn't work, you'll need to talk to a librarian or administrator at your institution to see if RefWorks is available.

If you do have an account, you can find additional details about using the product at the ProQuest RefWorks LibGuide.

State Library Victoria

Note - we have just upgraded our Library catalogue and are updating some links on our guides.

As we do this some catalogue links may not resolve correctly.