Water in Victoria

Guide to Victorian and some Commonwealth resources on water.

Water conservation

Make every drop count

Make every drop count Ministry of Water Resources and Water Supply, c.1984.
Riley and Ephemera Collection, State Library of Victoria.

 

Water conservation measures for home, office and the farm are detailed at the following websites:

  • for the home, guidelines are published at Home and garden
  • for non-residential customers consuming more than 10 million litres of drinking water per year, water management action plans are detailed at WaterMap
  • for farms and people on the land, useful links related to efficient farming, water sustainability issues, groundwater, dams and irrigation are available at Farms & the land

Information about rebates for water conservation measures offered by the Victorian government is available at the website Using & Saving Water.

The Living Melbourne Living Victoria is a ministerial committee created in 2011 to provide better planning and management of urban water systems and has provided to govenment a road map and implementation plan.

Victoria Resources Online provides access to a wide range of natural resources information and related mapping data at the state and regional level. Water-related information is available under the headings of Water and Land and Water Management.

Catalogue searching

To search for information in our catalogue enter the words water conservation. The results will be a mix of different resources such as journals, maps and books. Use the options on the left hand side of the page to narrow your search. You may, for example, wish to view the results for water quality or the conservation of natural resources. Or, you may prefer to limit your results to map resources.

Electronic resources

To search our electronic databases for information from home, you will need to be a registered user of the library, with a Victorian address. This will give you remote access to a selection of databases.

Visit the e-resources page on our website and make a selection from 'multi-subject databases'. Try some of these databases, particularly the Informit Core Collection. This collection includes subsets such as Agriculture and Natural Resources Index, Agriculture and Natural Resources Research Archive, Australia’s Natural Resources Database.

Use keywords such as water conservation or water conservation victoria (if you want to narrow your search to Victoria).

Other useful electronic databases are JSTOR, Ebscohost, Proquest, Wilson OmniFile Full Text and General OneFile.

Newspaper articles

You can also access news articles from a remote location if you’re registered as a Victorian user with us. Visit our website at this page and select Newspapers. Proquest Australia and New Zealand Newsstand and Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre via Ebsco are 2 major newspaper databases that we subscribe to. These newspaper databases have content from major Australian newspapers such as The Australian, The Age, Herald Sun, Sydney Morning Herald, The Advertiser and Courier Mail.

Newstext & News Store are newspaper archives from News Corporation and Fairfax, publishers of many Australian newspaper titles. A small charge applies to viewing the full text of stories in Newstext while News Store provides free access.

An additional newspaper resource is available via Trove which has digitized content from historic Australian newspapers to 1954.

You can refer to our research guides on How to find items in newspapers and How to find newspapers for further tips on newspaper research.

State Library Victoria

LIBRARY CLOSURE  

As of June 15 2020 the Library is open with reduced spaces and services.

Our Ask A Librarian  reference service is still available to assist with your research inquiries.