Water in Victoria

Guide to Victorian and some Commonwealth resources on water.

Desalination

The Wikipedia article, Desalination, provides a good overview of the prevailing technologies in water desalination.

Introduction to water desalination technologies in Australia describes available desalination technologies and their potential to provide a cost-effective salinity and water quality management tool. Also included is a 'desalination decision tree' to help communities determine whether desalination is an appropriate tool and which technologies can best be applied to the salinity problems they face.

Victorian Desal Project is located on the Bass Coast near the town of Wonthaggi, this project aims to provide 150 billion litres a year to Melbourne, Geelong, Westernport and South Gippsland by the end of 2011. However, the wettest summer of 2010/11, has brought uncertainty to the date when this project will go live.

Wonthaggi Desal Project 

[Desalination Plant route] Victoria. Department of Sustainability and Environment. (Awaiting permission)

Catalogue searching

To search for information in our catalogue enter the keywords such as victoria desalination, water recyling or water reuse. The results will be a mix of different resources such as books and journals. Use the options on the left hand side of the page to narrow your search. You may, for example, wish to view the results for water treatment plants.

Electronic resources

To search our electronic databases for information from home, you will need to be a registered user of the library, with a Victorian address. This will give you remote access to a selection of databases.

Visit the e-resources page on our website and make a selection from multi-subject databases. Try some of these databases, particularly the Informit Core Collection. This collection includes subsets such as Agriculture and Natural Resources Index, Agriculture and Natural Resources Research Archive, Australia’s Natural Resources Database. Use keywords such as victoria* desal* if you want to limit articles to Victoria, or just search using the word desal* for many more results.

Other resources worth searching are listed under multi-subject databases and include Ebscohost, General OneFile and Proquest.

 

Newspaper articles

You can also access news articles from a remote location if you’re registered as a Victorian user with us. Visit our website at this page and select Newspapers. Proquest Australia and New Zealand Newsstand and Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre via Ebsco are 2 major newspaper databases that we subscribe to. These newspaper databases have content from major Australian newspapers such as The Australian, The Age, Herald Sun, Sydney Morning Herald, The Advertiser and Courier Mail.

Newstext & News Store are newspaper archives from News Corporation and Fairfax, publishers of many Australian newspaper titles. A small charge applies to viewing the full text of stories in Newstext while News Store provides free access.

An additional newspaper resource is available via Trove which has digitized content from historic Australian newspapers to 1954.

You can refer to our research guides on How to find items in newspapers and How to find newspapers for further tips on newspaper research.

State Library Victoria

LIBRARY CLOSURE  

As of June 15 2020 the Library is open with reduced spaces and services.

Our Ask A Librarian  reference service is still available to assist with your research inquiries.