Ebooks: using our ebook collection

Help for Library users of ebook platforms available at the State Library

Alert there is a known issue with downloading EBSCO ebooks via Adobe Digital Editions. We will update this page when it is resolved.

State Library Victoria

Subject librarian

Sarah Bertie's picture
Sarah Bertie
Contact:
Contact me via our online reference service citing my name and the title of this guide

Using State Library Victoria's eresources

State Library Victoria provides free access to an extensive range of subscription databases, ejournals, ebooks and other eresources - including National edeposit (NED) and digitised material from our own collections.

Ebooks complement our print collections. We collect across a wide range of subjects including social sciences, history, economics, literature, biography, sport and architecture.

You can find these ebooks by searching the catalogue or browse our curated ebookshelf. The ebook catalogue filter searches the following sources: EBSCOhost, ProQuest, Berg Fashion Library, Gale, and NED ebooks.

All eresources can be accessed by anyone within the Library. If you are a registered State Library member with a verified Victorian address you can also read our ebooks anywhere, at any time. ​If you don't have a Library barcode join online and follow the steps to verify your address. Contact us if you have any issues or need to renew your account.

ProQuest and EBSCOhost ebooks can be downloaded (see the tabs in the guide for instructions). Ebooks from other databases can be read online. Some NED ebooks can only be read in the Library building - check each catalogue record for access conditions. 

View our main ebook databases via A-Z databases and visit the other ebook sources tab for for even more ebooks.

Ebookshelf

We are continually adding ebooks to our catalogue.

Browse our curated Ebookshelf (updated monthly).

You can see previous highlights on the Ebookshelf Archive.

Our two main suppliers are Proquest Ebook Central and EBSCOhost Ebook Collection.

View all ebook databases in A-Z Databases.

Visit our other ebook sources page for more ebooks.

ProQuest logo

EBSCO logo