Chess collection

Chess clubs and results

The Library has a range of books, newsletters and pamphlets relating to chess clubs and the results of tournaments. Searching for 'chess tournaments Victoria' in the Library catalogue brings up a variety of resources regarding Victorian tournaments, including historically significant collections such as the papers of the Melbourne Chess Club, from 1866-1984.

We hold newsletters and magazines produced by:

  • the Melbourne Chess Club (1970s-1980s)
  • the Box Hill Chess Club(1960s-1980s)
  • the Waverley Chess Club (1970s)
  • the Monash Chess Club (1970s)
  • the Kew Chess Club (1980s)

Australian grandmasters

The title of Grandmaster is the highest title that a chess player can be awarded (not including World Champion). The title is awarded by FIDE, the world chess organisation.

A list of Australian Grandmasters is as follows:

  • David Smerdon, 2009, QLD
  • Zhao Zong-Yuan, 2008, NSW
  • Darryl Johansen, 1995, VIC
  • Ian Rogers, 1985, TAS

Australia has previously awarded the title of Australian Master, however the title is no longer active.