New South Wales government publications

A guide to accessing and using NSW government publications both in print and online

State Library Victoria


In line with the stage 3 restrictions announced by the Premier, State Library Victoria closed on Thursday 9 July.

We will advise when there is any update to this situation.

Our Ask A Librarian reference service is still available to assist with your research inquiries.

State Library Victoria forecourt

Your Librarian

Tom Vasey's picture
Tom Vasey
Contact me via our online reference service citing my name and the title of this guide


This guide assists with locating New South Wales government publications online and in the collection of State Library Victoria (SLV).

Parliament Houses, Dec 1870, attributed to Charles Pickering, SPF / 307.
From the collections of the State Library of New South Wales.

The Parliament of New South Wales is Australia's first and oldest legislature.

In 1823 the British Parliament passed an Act 'for the better administration of Justice in New South Wales and Van Diemen’s Land, and for the effectual Government thereof; ...', better known as the New South Wales Act.

This allowed for the formation of the Legislative Council in 1824 with 5 government officials appointed. This body was to assist the Governor with the legislative process and to ensure nothing enacted was contrary to English law.

The Governor, however, had the final say. In 1825 Van Diemen's Land (Tasmania) separated from New South Wales and in 1850, Port Phillip District (Victoria) became a separate state.

For more on the beginnings of responsible government in New South Wales, see History of democracy in NSW.

Government & law guides