Researching your Victorian ancestors

A guide to family history research using the major Victorian resources

Cemetery records

Cemetery records can refer to either monumental inscriptions or burial registers. Monumental inscriptions include memorial plaques, grave markers or monuments to the deceased, whilst burial registers or records are listing of burials for individual cemeteries. Cemetery records can be particulary useful for helping you identify full names, birthplace, dates and relationships. They may also provide a significant historical detail i.e. a soldier's rank and regiment.

A list of the cemeteries for which burial registers and monumental inscriptions are available can be found in the publication Family and local history sources in Victoria.

Many cemeteries have indexed their burial records or records of monumental inscriptions. Further down this page you will find a list on online indexes to such records. The following  PDF document lists many of the cemeteries in Victoria and indicates whether their indexes are available online or can be accessed here in the library.

Available indexes

Available in the library

Ancestry Library Edition includes access to the following collections

  • The Australia Cemetery Index, 1808-2007  It includes transcriptions from several, but not all Australian cemeteries.The information included varies for each cemetery.
  • Australia and New Zealand, Find A Grave Index, 1800s- onwards. Contains an index to cemetery and burial details posted on the Find A Grave website.


Burial registers and monumental inscriptions for individual Victorian cemeteries are also available in the Newspapers and Family History Reading Rooms on a range of formats - print, microfilm, microfiche and CD-ROM. Many registers are also available online. Open the attached document to display a comprehensive list of Victorian cemetery records.

 

Available from home

  • The Australian Cemeteries website provides an alphabetical list of most of the cemeteries in Australia. Use this find cemetery information and links to transcriptions, online data, headstone photographs, location maps, available look up services and contact details.
  • The Find A Grave website contains an index to nearly 4000 Australian cemeteries. You can search by name or browse by place. Not all cemeteries or burials have been indexed.
  • The Billion Graves website indexes a huge range of records and images from many of the world's cemeteries, all tagged with GPS locations.

AIGS Cemetery Transcriptions


A cumulative index to the monumental inscriptions in approximately 90 Victorian cemeteries is available on Workstation 175 in the Family History and Newspaper Room. It is also available on microfiche. Cemeteries include:

Amherst
Amphitheatre

Anderson’s Creek
Antwerp
Antwerp-Ebenezer Mission 

Avoca
Axedale
Ballan
Bealiba

Beaufort
Beechworth
Benalla
Bungaree
Buninyong
Cape Clear
Clarendon
Clunes
Cofhills Creek       
Creswick
Daylesford         
Eganstown

El Dorado
Flinders Naval Base    
Franklinford
Gordon
Greendale
Koondrook
Learmouth
Lexton
Lincoln
Majorca
Malmsbury

Maryborough
Mildura (Methodist)
Morrisons
Mt Cole
Mt Egerton
Mt Prospect
Murchison
Navarre
Newstead
Paynesville
Rokewood   

Runnymede
Towaninnie
Tylden
Waterloo
Waubra
Woodend
Wesburn
Yarra Glen               

   

 

In Memoriam

In memoriam : a guide to the history and heritage of Victoria's cemeteries by Garrie Hutchinson, 2014.
Find on shelf in La Trobe  LT 994.50099 H972I
Also available online from the health.vic website.