Researching your Victorian ancestors

Non-British persons who were residents of Australia for more than 5 years could become citizens on application to the authorities.  With naturalisation they would acquire the rights and privileges of citizens to own land, vote in elections etc. Few females applied.

Chinese residents were naturalised in significant numbers until 1885 when the Victorian government changed it's naturalisation policy. Applications would no longer be approved ‘unless a sufficient reason was assigned’. The number of certificates issued decreased and by 1888 none were issued.

Naturalisation records may include, in the handwritten application, the place of birth, former place of residence, birthplace and name of the ship and the date of arrival in the colony/country of the applicant.

Records from 1848-1903

• The National Archives of Australia {NAA) in Canberra holds naturalisation records for the Colony of Victoria for the period from 1848 to 1903, including Letters of Administration from 1851-1903.

1904 onwards

• The National Archives of Australia holds Commonwealth naturalisation and citizenship records from 1904 onwards. Two main types of records are held - naturalisation certificates (up to 1962) and naturalisation case files. The case files include the citizenship application details, the oath of allegiance and other documents.
  To find citizenship records:
  • Go to the NAA RecordSearch page and select the NameSearch option
  • Type in the surname and given name
  • In ‘Category of records’, select ‘Immigration and naturalisation records’

1851-1928

• Victoria - Index to Naturalisation Certificates, 1851-1928. Available at the Library on the Ancestry Library Edition database.
  This collection includes images of a card index to naturalisation certificates issued to non-British subjects in Victoria. Details on the cards include the name of the person, occupation, place of residence, age, native place, the date and number of the certificate, and the reference to the record book and page.Certificates can be ordered from the National Archives of Australia.

1847-1852

• Register of patents and (from 19 Feb. 1851) register of certificates of naturalization [microform]: volume of enrolled certificates with index, 1847 (Oct. 5)-1852 (Mar. 8). Colony of New South Wales to 1851 then Colony of Victoria, Supreme Court of New South Wales, District of Port Phillip to 1852, then Supreme Court of Colony of Victoria. (CRS A 725).
  Surname index at the end of the microfilm.

1852-1880

• Registers of certificates of naturalization.  Volumes of enrolled certificates with index 1852 – 1880. Colony of Victoria, Supreme Court of the Colony of Victoria. (CRS A 726).

• Nominal index for pre-1904 Victorian naturalization 1852-1903 (CRS A7796). 

• Indexes to the microfilm series of naturalisation certificates are available for the years 1852-1880 and 1863-1903

1852-1903

• Nominal index for pre-1904 Victorian naturalization 1852-1903 (CRS A7796)

• Indexes to the microfilm series of naturalisation certificates are available for the years 1852-1880 and 1863-1903

1863-1903

• Volumes of enrolled letters of naturalization 1863 – 1903: Colony of Victoria to 1901, then State of Victoria.
• (CRS A 727).Nominal index for pre-1904 Victorian naturalization 1852 – 1903 (CRS A7796). and note A727 reference if listed

Pre 1904

• Naturalisation records for the Province of South Australia are held in the National Archives of Australia, Adelaide Office.
• Naturalisation records for New South Wales, Queensland, Western Australia and Tasmania before 1904 are held by the appropriate State government archive office.

1904 onwards

• The National Archives of Australia in Canberra holds Commonwealth naturalisation and citizenship records from 1904 onwards. Two main types of records are held - naturalisation certificates (up to 1962) and naturalisation case files. The case files include the citizenship application details, the oath of allegiance and other documents.
  To find citizenship records:
• Go to the NAA RecordSearch page and select the NameSearch option
• Type in the surname and given name
• In ‘Category of records’, select ‘Immigration and naturalisation records’.

• Finding families In this introductory webinar, learn the principles of family history research and find out how to access family history resources through the State Library Victoria.
   
• Researching your home This webinar will help to answer the questions and curiosities you may have about your family home, whether it’s the house you’re living in now or the scene of your childhood memories. In this session we will include ways to research your family home, finding previous occupants and uncovering  the social history of the area.
   
• Newsworthy learn how to navigate the Library’s extensive newspaper collection in this live and interactive online session. You'll dive into the millions of words printed on both current and historical articles in our online databases, and discover how to find specific newspapers in hard copy, online and on microfilm.