Australian census statistics

This website contains basic demographic data in Excel spreadsheet format. Statistics include population size and growth, population distribution, population age-sex structure, births, deaths, migration, marriages and divorces.

Download in PDF format. Includes statistics collected from censuses and government departments. Covers each of the colonies of Australia and New Zealand.ABS catalogue number 1398.0

Download in PDF format. ABS publication number 3141.0.

Download in PDF format. ABS catalogue number 3141.0.

This book is Volume 10 of Australians, a historical library. It includes statistics in some cases dating back to 1788, and in many cases up to the 1980s. Many of these statistics have been extracted from census data.

This book lists the resources that are available in the Historical microfiche series (see below). These resources include small area data and detailed reports on all censuses from 1911 to 1961.
Use this book to find references to items of interest before using the microfiche.

Use with index listed above.
Some microfiche relating to the 1933 census are missing.
Also includes statistics from 1939 National register (of men aged between 18-64), and a great deal of background information about the collection of the data.
Also includes statistics from the 1943 Supplementary civilian register (men & women).

This website compares statistics from the 1901 and 2001 censuses. It includes population counts and information about birthplace, marital status, level of education, occupation, income, and statistics specifically about people of indigenous origin.

Chapter in the book The Aboriginal population revisited: 70,000 Years to the present. Outlines how statistics were collated.

This book includes:
- population at censuses 1844-1981
- population estimate at Dec 31st 1836-1981
- marriages 1836-1981
- migration 1836-1981
- employment status 1966-1982
- household income 1948-1981
- religious affiliation at each census 1844-1981

Online. Digitised census publications. ABS catalogue number 2112.0

The University of Melbourne Social Survey was Australia’s largest non-government survey falling between the two official Government censuses of 1933 and 1946. Conceived and led by University economist Wilfred Prest, the survey interviewed a sample consisting of 7300 households occupying 6500 addresses in more than 20 suburbs across Melbourne. Not only did the Survey fill a gap in the census, it served as a model for research intended to inform social and economic policy. The records of the survey preserved in the University of Melbourne Archives provide an insight into the history of social surveys as well as a detailed picture of living conditions in wartime Melbourne, especially housing.